My First Thrown Pot

7 Sep

This is my first flower pot made by “throwing” the clay instead of hand-building. I threw the pot, let it sit until it was, as they say, leather-hard, then used one side as a surface to sculpt on. I don’t know why I used to pooh-pooh the idea of spinning the clay on a turntable to make pots. But now that I’ve tried it I love it with the passion of the newly converted. Plus, learning the skills will give me even more excuses to put off learning how to make ears! I may even spring for a potter’s wheel.

One Response to “My First Thrown Pot”

  1. Mary Maude October 6, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Great for you trying and learning new stuff!

Leave a Reply

