Marble Carvings

28 Mar

My marble moon face is on the shelf until I develop the skills I need to finish it. That brings me to the next one: an abstract shape derived from Chinese & Japanese brush calligraphy. I’ve had it in the back of my head since around 1982, refining it over the years through pencil doodling in book margins. It’s best described as a liquid “Z” with one hard dot or ball nestled in each of the acute angles. It may take several sculptures to get it out of my system.

3 Responses to “Marble Carvings”

  1. johnklompmaker March 28, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    I like your face work, Braven. Also like the set up of the marble moon. Ark of the covenant is a challenge. Some powerful symbolism there. Looks good. I like the contrasting white and teak poles.

    • bsmillie March 28, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      Thanks! Hammered gold wasn’t an option.

      • johnklompmaker March 28, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

        Hahahaha. Deeper pockets than mine for the gold option.

Leave a Reply

