Faun-Like Gargoyle

28 Feb

With this piece, I’m mainly trying a technically difficult sculpture to learn the strengths and limits of the wonderful clays I’m encountering here in Portland. I’m also trying to shed the habit of making faces that flat, smacked-with-a-frying-pan look. This is Timberline from Georgie’s, my new favorite clay store. It’s survived a first firing, and next comes the glaze.

4 Responses to “Faun-Like Gargoyle”

  1. Sarah Harris February 28, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Wow! I’m impressed! I may have to try a sculpture although I’m totally convinced my first one will look like a smiley face!

    • bsmillie February 28, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks for noticing. Whatever you do, just get started! You’ll love it.

      • Sarah Harris February 28, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

        Do you have a clay you recommend for first timers?

  2. bsmillie February 28, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    The best thing is to find a clay or art shop where people can help you out with advice on their custom-made or local clays. I would start with a mid-fire (cone 6) clay that has a medium amount and fineness of grog. Here in Portland “Three Finger Jack” and “Timberline” are good. That’s all I know so far, since I only came to town in December. Just accept a little chaos and cracking and it’ll all be great fun.

Leave a Reply

