Blessed Virgin Mary

23 Sep

It’s time for a new big-ticket item. This will be a Blessed Virgin Mary. A full Nativity scene may be out of reach this year. But maybe I can work up a Maddona & Child by Christmas.

I put the hands on last night in one of those operations that turned out much more chaotic and harried than I’d expected. Next, I’ll wait until it dries enough that the dryer outer layer of clay is solid enough to support it, but soft enough to be cut with an Xacto knife. Then I cut out a lid and scoop out the soft clay to make a hollow shell, as I did with the larger portrait busts.

Leave a Reply

